Tags

, , ,

The next morning, we are woke up at 5h30 am by porter who give us a hot tea. We then have about 30 minutes to dress up and pack the sleeping bag to be ready. It doesn’t take more time for our breakfast to be ready in the main tent. Wow! What a nice breakfast.
We had plenty of energy to continu our difficult 4 hours climb to the first mountain pass called “dead woman pass”. Up there, at 4215 meters of altitude, we have an amazing view on the 1000 meters we climbed since this morning. It’s cold at the top and the cloud are coming on us. Just the time to take a few pictures before the view become all white…
On the other side, we have a steep trail going down the mountain with a lot of steps. (700 meters down)
We had lunch at the bottom of the valley. The chef has prepared a very good lunch for us. We even have time for an afternoon nap after. We then get back in the trail for a 350 meters climbs to the second mountain pass (3950m). On the way up, we visited an archeological site called “runkuakay” which offer a good view on the trail after the first pass. I sprinted the last 150m climbs, passing a few porter on the way. I feel good! I waited a good 30 minutes at the top for my guide to catch up on me. It’s time to go down again in direction of our camping site. On the way down, I visited an archeological site called “sayaqmarka”. It is a well preserved inka town which stand at the top of a cliff and offer a nice view on the valley and camping site down below. I spent the necessary time to visit all section of this ruin. I then took the direction of the camping site to meet my group. Everything is already set up by porter. We have a bowl of hot water to wash our feet. It is very welcome because temperature is dropping fast at 3600 meters of altitude. I put on all the warm cloth I have. The humidity level must be at 100%. It is freezing in here. At 4pm, there is pop-corn and tea. At 6pm, the diner is served. Wow! I could not ask for more. The diner really helped to warm up. We then went to bed early to rest after our toughest day.
Hopefully, I had a good sleeping bag 🙂
image

image

View from Dead Woman Pass


image
image
image
image

sayaqmarka ruin

