Tags

, , , ,

For the third day on the inca trail, we were woke up at 5h30 by our porter. Similar to previous day, we had tea, and nice breakfast. The weather is perfect, not a single cloud in the sky. This third day on the inca trail is not expected to be difficult as it is overall relatively flat or downhill. We got to the third mountain pass in only 1h30. From there, the view is amazing, we can see 3 archeological sites throughout the valley and the town of aguas caliente far away. While going down the valley, the first ruin we visited was called “phuyupatamarka”. It is a well preserved site with a long chain of inca baths. As I start getting use to the inequal steps, I like to accelerate the pace, especially when going downhill.
When a group of porter passed next to us running downhill with their 25kg backpack. I looked at my guide and agreed with him to meet at the next archeological site.
I ran down the stairs, 2 steps at a time.
I soon found out, I was too fast for the porter. I even had time to take a few pictures on the way and take a movie while catching up on the porter. It was fun!
I left the porter use the shortcut to the campsite while I took the direction of the archeological site called “impata” where I met my group. It is a big site with a lot of terasse. The campsite was less than 15 minutes away. It is noon and we are the first group to arrive. We had a quick snack and left to visit “Winay Wayna”; A huge site with temple, terasse, series of baths, and a town at the bottom. Wow. There is a lot of steps. At the bottom of the site, there is a trail that lead to a giant water fall. This water from glacier is very refreshing! With my afternoon off, I met new friends while player soccer on a very narrow terrain on the side of the mountains. The bowl was often going flying through the jungle forest below… oups! During that time, muskitos were using me as their meal.
We had diner and said thank you and goodbye to our porter and chef.
We went to bed early after as we need to get up at 4 am the next morning.
image

image

View from Impata


image

View from third mountain pass


image

Winay Wayna


image

Winay Wayna


image

Waterfall near Winay Wayna

