I spent the morning with my kid at a Wild Park (zoo) a few km away. There were a lot of animals free to go where they want. After a lot of walking, Tom felt asleep pretty quickly after lunch.

This was my signal to jump on my newly purchased road bike and head north from Waldsee, in Palatinate-Pfalz region of Germany. First destination was Altrip where a ferry is allowing me to cross the Rhein river to the other side. The ferry is inexpensive; only 1 euro for a cyclist.

From there, I continued my way, zigzaging to find the right road to avoid heavy traffic, highway or get stuck on the wrong side of a train track. Further North, I crossed the Nectar river in Seckenheim and then followed the north side of that river toward Heidelberg. 

I continued my way on the north side until Neckarrgemünd where I crossed the river and headed south on the B45. 3km further is where the climb actually begins.

A 410m climb over 7.4km to a place called Konnigstuhl. (chair of the King). It offers a very nice view over Heidelberg.

From up there, the descent is rewarding. A good 15-20min before you reach the town of Heidelberg.

Since it took me 2 hours to get to Heidelberg and it would get dark 1h30 later, I opted for the train to get back home. The train was late by over 20 minutes. It gave me time to figure out how to book my train ticket using the phone’s App using bad Wifi. But I made it.

After the train ride, I had another 5km to ride back home, in the cold. My muscles didn’t appreciate those. Glad I had an high protein meal waiting for me at home. They call it Haxe. It is just a huge piece of Ham with the bones.

It makes me think of the Flintstones and their huge meals. 🤣